St. Joseph Chapel celebrating 100 years
Feb. 22, 2010
Mobile, Ala. – St. Joseph Chapel at Spring Hill College turns 100 this year. The initial celebration will be a special Centennial Mass celebrated by Mobile Archbishop Thomas J. Rodi at 11 a.m. Sunday, March 21. The liturgy will be followed by an outdoor reception near the chapel fountain. Alumni, parents and friends of the College are invited to the Mass and reception. To RSVP, please call 380-2283.
Construction began on St. Joseph Chapel when a 1909 fire destroyed the wooden building that housed Spring Hill’s student chapel. The cornerstone for St. Joseph was put in place on June 13, 1909, and the building was completed in 1910. Modified Gothic in style, it is constructed of brick covered with stucco. A red slate roof, amber windows, and cream-colored stucco walls and buttresses are the defining features of the building. The chapel is thought by many to be the most beautiful in Mobile.
St. Joseph underwent its first renovation during the 1970s. The most recent and extensive restoration was completed in 2004. Exterior improvements included a new roof, fresh paint, and the repair of both structural and non-structural cracks. Inside the chapel, a new main altar and baptismal font were installed. The original wood floors and pews were finished and restored, along with the Stations of the Cross. A new lighting system was added to highlight the building’s unique architectural details, and a new organ and state-of-the-art sound system made the transformation complete.