Student artists to celebrate 100th anniversary of St. Joseph Chapel with exhibition March 14-April 10
MOBILE, Ala. – Spring Hill College student artists will present an exhibition of works celebrating the 100th anniversary of the college's historic St. Joseph Chapel. The exhibition runs from March 14 - April 10, 2011 in the Fine and Performing Arts Center and will coincide with the annual Homecoming on the Hill alumni weekend April 8-10.
The chapel's 100th anniversary celebration began in March 2010 with a special Mass celebrated by Mobile Archbishop Thomas Rodi.
Construction began on St. Joseph Chapel when a 1909 fire destroyed the wooden building that housed Spring Hill's student chapel. The cornerstone for St. Joseph was put in place on June 13, 1909, and the building was completed in 1910. Modified Gothic in style, it is constructed of brick covered with stucco. A red slate roof, amber windows, and cream-colored stucco walls and buttresses are the defining features of the building. The chapel is thought by many to be the most beautiful in Mobile. St. Joseph underwent its first renovation during the 1970s.
The most recent and extensive renovation was completed in 2004. Exterior improvements included a new roof, fresh paint, and the repair of both structural and non-structural cracks. Inside the chapel, a new main altar and baptismal font were installed. The original wood floors and pews were finished and restored, along with the Stations of the Cross. A new lighting system was added to highlight the building's unique architectural details, and a new organ and state-of-the-art sound system made the transformation complete.