Endowed Chairs

The Altmayer Endowed Chair in Literature is awarded for two years to a member of the literature faculty who has encouraged others to enjoy and appreciate good literature through demonstrated excellence in teaching and scholarship.

  • 2022 – 2024 – Stephanie Callan, PhD – Associate Professor of English and Division Chair, Languages and Literatures

The Thomas E. Caestecker Chair in the Liberal Arts is awarded to a member of the faculty for a project linked to the furtherance of the goals of a liberal arts education.

  • 2021 – 2024 – Tom Hoffman, PhD – Associate Professor and Department Chair of Political Science and the Law


Edward B. Moody, S.J., Teacher of the Year Award

The Edward B. Moody, S.J., Teacher of the Year Award is made annually to the professor who, in the judgment of a committee composed of a broad cross-section of the academic community, has displayed excellence in the fulfillment of the teaching mission of the college.

The 2022-23 Teacher of the Year is Jamie O’Bryant, PhD, Associate Professor of Psychology. 

Dawson Awards

The Dawson Awards, endowed by Mr. Dudley Dawson, a former Chair of the Board of Trustees, to recognize outstanding research and service by Spring Hill College faculty are presented at the Commencement Ceremony each year.

The 2022 recipient of the Dawson Service Award is Jamie O’Bryant, PhD, Associate Professor of Psychology, for her countless hours dedicated to improving student mental health and well-being  through programs addressing suicide, body image and eating disorders, mental health in the LGBTQ+ community, and racial injustice.

The 2022 recipient for the Dawson Research Award is Wanda Sullivan, MFA, Professor of Art, for her continuous and impressive impact in the field of art with nine peer-reviewed exhibitions in less than two years.

The Committee also would like to recognize Alex Ruble, PhD, for her research on “modern Europe and Germany, women’s and gender history, and global/comparative history” and  Sr. Nélida Naveros Córdova, CDP, PhD, for research “on Paul, the Gospels, and Philo of Alexandria, a Hellenistic Jew and contemporary of Jesus and Paul.”

Ignatian Great Ideas for Teaching (I-Gift)

Spring Hill faculty actively participate in mission activities sponsored by the Association of Jesuit Colleges and Universities and on-campus offerings such as retreats and Ignatian Seminars. Encouraging faculty to transform those personal mission-based experiences into similar opportunities for their students is the goal of the I-GIFT program established by Sharee Broussard, PhD, as an outcome of AJCU’s Ignatian Colleagues Program (Cohort 10).

I-GIFTs are class-tested, mission-centered assignments and activities that demonstrate the application of best practices in teaching and Ignatian Pedagogy and can be adapted to multiple disciplines and settings. Each year, a faculty committee selects the best I-GIFT and adds it to a collection for sharing with Spring Hill and other AJCU faculty. 

The I-GIFT program rewards excellence, encourages participation, and provides actual, rather than anecdotal, evidence of mission in action.


2021 Winner – Vlad Kravstov

2021 Honorable Mention – Alex Ruble

2020 Co-Winner – Janden Richards

2020 Co-Winner – Stacy Wellborn

2019 Winner – Chelsea Haramia

2019 Honorable Mention – Alex Ruble

© Copyright 2022 Spring Hill College. All rights reserved.