About The Department

The Department of Political Science and Law contributes to liberal arts education at Spring Hill College through courses in four subfields:

  • American government and politics (including courses in public policy and constitutional law)
  • comparative politics
  • international relations
  • political philosophy

The department offers major and minor programs in political science and administers two interdisciplinary minors, pre-law and international studies.

Program Offerings

Spring Hill College’s Pre-Law Minor prepares students for success in law school and beyond.

Clubs and Organizations

Pi Sigma Alpha Honorary

Spring Hill College is home to the Iota Psi chapter of Pi Sigma Alpha, the national  honorary society in Political Science.

New inductees are admitted each spring.

Political Science and International Studies Club

The Political Science and International Studies Club was founded in the spring of 2007.  Article II of the club’s constitution states its aims, including the following:

  • to encourage learning both inside and outside the Spring Hill Community,
  • to inspire students to create a better understanding of the world around them, and;
  • to inspire students to participate in political discussion

Learn more about our many student organizations here.


  • Thomas Hoffman

    Associate Professor; MLA Director; Department Chair, Political Science

  • Vladislav Kravtsov

    Associate Professor

Contact the Department:

Telephone:  251-380-4184

Fax:  251-460-2115

Email:  thoffman@shc.edu (Department Chair, Dr. Tom Hoffman)

Mailing Address:  4000 Dauphin St., Mobile, AL  36608

© Copyright 2024 Spring Hill College. All rights reserved.